People who's going to tell me that your toddler doesn't act out and/or responds favorably to discipline, then let me just go ahead at the outset and call you a liar. See, I have been intensely studying these wild animals (toddlers) for almost 4 years now, and I have come to the well-researched conclusion that they are uncontrollable acts of nature. As in, you'd be more likely to get a tornado to sit on your "Time Out Chair." I've read the books and watched the Supernannies. I've heard about "coming down to their level" to speak to them in a non-threatening manner and I've attempted to remain cool in the face of confrontation.. Yeah, it doesn't work for my household. Sadly, I have turned to the switch.
Now I can already hear your harsh judgments seeping through your computer screen and spilling out into my cozy recliner... you're telling me that we have to remain in control, that we can't respond in anger, that by losing our composure they WIN! But sister, I've heard it all before, and I can assure you that you're wasting your time. In a heartbeat she can morph from impossibly sweet and delicate nymph fairy into lunatic running screaming from the asylum, to the point where I'd swear she wasn't even my kid (or at least, I'd be actively wishing she wasn't my kid). And yet a few short moments (read: 15 interminable minutes) later, she is returned to us, confusedly shaking her head in disbelief as if she'd just been dropped back down to earth after an alien abduction. It's either her way or the highway. No questions asked. I have never heard a toddler sass and backtalk like her. I know they say that you pay for your raising, but KarleyShay is only THREE! Shouldn't I 'Pay for my raising' in her teenage years? Makes sense to me. Apparently it doesn't happen like that.
Now, I can be a tad bit of a push over. The things she says sometimes just catches me off guard and well, I giggle. A lot. For example today, "KarleyShay, get your barbies out of the living room or I am going to put them all away for the rest of the day." KarleyShay, replies with "You can't put them up if I punch you in the eye ball".. What?! What did she just say to me? I am not kidding. I thought little boys were supposed to say things like that. I just cannot have my toddler being the boss. Every since i was a little girl, I couldn't wait to be the boss. Sadly, she will tell you who is in charge and well, she doesn't say 'Mommy'. And this is how the switch came into play..
During a visit with my in-laws today, I tell Cindy, (KarleyShay's Mima, who refuses to go by Grandma, because she says that she is just to hip and young), just how much of a wild banshee this pretty, little, redhead can be. Not like she hasn't noticed before. She basically told me that I had two alternatives, keep doing what I am doing or try her method. About that time, KarleyShay, starts rudely barking out orders. Cindy, takes, Kars, outside with her. I'm guessing they go out for a little chat. Considering, KarleyShay is the only grandchild, she is a little spoiled and her Papaw doesn't like for you to spank her in front of him. They come back in with three switches. One for Mima and Pa's house, another for KarleyShay's baby dolls, and lastly one for our house. "What am I supposed to do with this?" I asked, Cindy. "Bust her little tail. If you don't she is going to get worse. You have to be in control." I was one who always said that I would never use a switch on my child, because well, it hurts to bad and could possibly leave stripes! Before we left tonight, she gave me precise directions on how to use it. She even made sure that when we were walking out the door that I had it in my hand. I didn't think I would get to use it tonight. I was thinking it would be more of use in the mornings. That's what I get for wishful thinking.
The moment occurred. KarleyShay, had just finished her bowl of candy cereal (Lucky Charms) and it was time for a quick tea party with her favorite friends. She had placed one of her babies for a nap in our recliner, then went on about her party on the coffee table. KarleyShay's, great-grandmother came in, not knowing that baby Ariel, was napping.. Kars, took off full sprint almost knocking her completely out of our recliner. I tried to make, KarleyShay, apologize, I would have had better luck getting one from the dog. I went into the kitchen, grabbed my switch and threatened her. And what did she do? She laughed. I was appalled. I slightly bent over, got her legs, barely. And that was it. Mamaw, got her apology, even with a hug! Need I say that it absolutely broke my heart! I immediately texted, Cindy, and told her that maybe the switch just wasn't for me. She never texted me back, mainly because she was probably too busy laughing at me, but I like to think she just went to bed an hour early. Who knows what happened. After a non response, I turn to my blog. No better way to get this off my chest. But, I did come to realize, when my mother told me while growing up, that spanking me hurt her far worse than it did me. Well, I always thought she was crazy. Literally. But that's not the case. Spanking, KarleyShay
Does my new-found insight mean that I don't get mad, or have stopped yelling at her when her head starts doing 360 degree rotations? Of course not! As I explained, I'm no better at controlling myself in the heat of the moment than she is, and I'm done apologizing for it. So we both screech at each other with reckless abandon, momentarily surrendering to THE TANTRUM control of our dignity and our bodily functions, somehow instinctively knowing the backs of our (adrenaline-addled) minds that This, Too, Shall Pass.
*NOW* do I get my own TV series, ABC?
| <3 |
No comments:
Post a Comment