Saturday, September 17, 2011

KarleyShay's, first trip to the movies!



Today, Cody and I got brave. We decided to take Kars to see, The Lion King in 3D! I, for one, was so ecstatic. This was my favorite movie growing up, my room was done in The Lion King, I had a yellow kitten named, Simba, and cried for a pet warthog before Christmas. (True story). This was our first trip to the movies with our little family. We figured, KarleyShay, was at the right age to enjoy a movie in a theater. Knowing my daughter, she loves to be the center of attention. (If you haven't noticed) She's drawn to the spotlight. Cody and I prepared ourselves for the worst..


After purchasing our tickets, we stop by the concession stand to get plenty of goodies, and head to find our theater. It is dark when we walk in and Kars mistakes it for the bathroom for some reason, and says "I said, I didn't have to potty." Alright, we get ya. We quickly find our seats and put on our 3D glasses. Of course, pictures are snapped before the previews come on. KarleyShay, is sitting happily between Cody and I, you can tell just how excited she is.. Her mouth is running a mile a minute. She's the talker of the family and I have no idea who she gets that from (hehehe). The lights dim and the movie starts..

She laughs through the previews, says that she wants to see all the ones that come on, like most normal people do, eats her candy, drinks her sprite and need I mention that she is sitting perfectly still? YES! My sweet, daughter is sitting still, in a crowded theater..

The Questions start rolling in one after the other.. This is what I hear during the intro of the movie:

Kars- ''Mommy, where's the Lion King?''
Me- 'Just watch baby you will see..'
Kars- 'Why isn't that Cantaloupe (meaning antelope) at the zoo?'
Me- ''It is baby, they are by the giraffes.''
Kars- "No, it's in the movie."
Kars- "My favorite animal is a Zebra, what's yours?"
Me- "A Monkey, Karley, now shhhh'
Kars- "it's not nice to shhh me"
Kars- ''Mommy,where are all the animals going in a hurry?''
Me- "Just watch the movie, baby.''
Kars- "Why are those birds riding on the elephant horns?"
Kars-"Why is that monkey holding it up high, he might drop it.''
Me -"He's showing the other animals the new baby lion."
Kars- "oh, okay."
Kars- "Mommy, I don't have to pee."
Me- "Okay, Karley."

Gee, my daughter is going to be that person you watch a movie with that asks 700 questions throughout the entire thing. The questions stop and my daughter is still continuing to sit still. Scar, Simba's uncle comes back into play and KarleyShay yells out, "I don't like youuu." I giggle. I don't like that mean old lion either! But, I do have to keep reminding KarleyShay, to keep her glasses on. She thinks it's so neat. She starts reaching out and trying to catch the rain, pet the animals, grab the rope swing that, Simba, swings on. You can tell she is getting frustrated when she cannot actually touch them. Cody and I look at each other and laugh. She also thinks it's cool that they eat bugs. She is upset by the fact that I do not know, off the top of my head, what type of animal Timon is.. I know, he's a meerkat, it was at the tip of my tongue but nothing was coming out. Anyways...

Next thing I know, KarleyShay, spills all of her Reese Pieces in the floor. She giggles then tries to switch seats. I know how my child thinks.. Why do children find it necessary to have a ten minute rule? Isn't it supposed to be a five second rule.. Even though God made dirt and dirt don't hurt.. I refuse to let my child even think about eating anything up off the floor! She was not allowed to switch seats to the left of me. She could sit with Mommy or Daddy. I made her mad, so she picked Daddy. I knew if she moved to my left, she would pick a piece of her floor-flavored candy up and eat it.. I was absolutely not allowing that to happen. Thankfully, she forgot about all the mess in the floor. That was a relief.

The movie came to an end, the room cheered and of course, KarleyShay, joined in, clapping her hands. Her very, first trip to the theater was a wonderful success! With her behavior, we will definitely go to more movies. Cody and I were both shocked with her behavior. She did exceptional and I was very proud of her. My baby is growing up.

3D is awesome. Seriously. It was mine and Cody's first time watching it and I thought it was special that we were doing it together, as a family. :) Sweet moment.. Most people wonder what age is best to take a toddler to see a movie.. In my personal opinion, if your child cannot sit still during a movie at home, it may be best to wait a little longer. KarleyShay, will be four in December and she done amazing. I think we picked the right age to take her! She enjoyed it and so did we. A very, happy family day for the books! :)


Just a few quick pics!



Kars and I in our 3D glasses!




Daddy and Kars in their glasses!














Wednesday, September 14, 2011

Cuddling With A Redheaded, Toddler!

KarleyShay, 2 days old! :)
I can remember just as if it were yesterday, when we first brought KarleyShay, home from the hospital. She was only two days old. We had her dressed in a purple "Thank Heaven for Little Girls'' outfit. She was just the sweetest thing that I have ever laid my eyes on.

We used to try to eek out a few more minutes of sleep by bringing her into our bed when she woke up in the wee hours of the morning. Now, i had been warned to not even think about putting her in the bed with us. But I just couldn't get away from her! And plus, how could you not want to fall asleep looking at something so pure in heart and perfect in every way?


This seemed like such a perfect idea, and I knew other people did it. But our baby was just too excitable (Some things never change). Apparently being in bed with us was thrilling, even when she was a tiny infant, and she just couldn't contain herself. She’d flip and kick and squirm and crawl and fall and roll and flail.. We figured all babies must be like this and that other parents just had a higher tolerance for this type of thing. She was the only baby we had, so how could we know?

Well, let's jump to present day. Now, KarleyShay, doesn't fall asleep with us. She actually gets in her own bed with her two favorite friends and falls asleep on her own. But you can bet all of your poker chips that every night at 2 am, she comes walking in like she owns the place and it's always like, clockwork! When she jumps in the bed with us, she is fine for the first hour. Then the torment begins.

I get feet in my ribs, feet across my chest, her head in Cody's ribs, an arm across the face, sleeping moans, tossing and turning, giggling (yes, in her sleep), by this time her daddy has moved to the sofa or even the recliner, which ever he makes it to the easiest. I, on the other-hand, have a very small space to work with, in our queen sized bed, I get enough room to lay on my side, that's it. Considering now since it's only the two of us in the bed, I should be able to sleep comfortably now, but no, somehow the little squirt still manages to take up a whole bed. Spread Eagle, style. I'm not kidding. Now, you might ask, 'Why don't you just move her to the other end of the bed?' Because it is just not that easy. You move her, she comes back. Last night for instance, Cody had moved, and I gracefully move her to his side of the bed. She comes wandering back over to me, this time laying on top of me. Then tosses and turns, while kicking! Flips around and hits me in the head with her princess baby doll, Ariel. I have no idea, how to break this cycle! But I do know that I do not look forward to 2am. Well, that's my rant for the day..

I can't wait 'till she's a teenager and wants to sleep in, because that for sure isn't gonna happen!



Sunday, September 11, 2011

Shopping with the terrible threes..

Before we left for shopping.




You have to be adventurous to take a toddler shopping, but sometimes you may just want to and other times you may have no choice. Friday, I wanted to take her. So beforehand she gets a small pep talk and it goes something like this:

Me: "Mommy and daddy have to go shopping today. You can
only get one thing. Do not ask for two."
Kars: "Whine whine whine"
Me: "You better be on your best behavior, KarleyShay, Momma and
Daddy are taking the switch."
Kars: "Whine whine whine whine."

The list of rules are your usual: When Mommy (or Daddy) say no, that means, do not poke the packages of meat in the butcher section, do not test the laws of physics and try to take out the bottom can in the pyramid shaped display, do not play baseball with oranges in the produce section, and most importantly do not ask
random people one thousand questions..

KarleyShay, has the tendency to ask people she doesn't even know from Adam, why they are buying what's in their buggy, what their favorite color is, if they have a favorite princess, etc.. I'm sure you catch my drift.  She never meets a stranger.

Our first stop is Marshall's, of course we pass the shoes first. She just absolutely has to have a pair. (She's definitely her fathers daughter) She's not pitching a fit, just talking very loudly. She gets a lot of smiles and older ladies comment on how she has the sweetest voice. Others call her an angel. Hmmm.. Then it starts. After the shoe section, they have their intimate section, (I guess you would call it). KarleyShay, sees a blue and white polka dot bra out of the corner of her eye. Her words (if you would even consider them words) kinda reminds me of something a monkey would say. Then she starts hollering out "I have to have it". I whispered to her, "KarleyShay, it is not time for you to wear a bra yet. You're too little, baby. Maybe in a few years." "I need it," she continued, "I wear a size six! But I wear a size six!" KarleyShay, knows the size she wears, usually every Saturday she goes on shopping occurrence with her Mima and her Sissy (her Aunt Savannah). I reply to her "Kars, I know you wear a size six, but that's not your size and you are just too little".

I walked away to the opposite side of the buggy while, Cody, talked to her. His words are magic. Somehow, she miraciously stops. We go on about our shopping and I overhear, Cody, trying to talk Kars out of something. He had spotted for her a Dora purse, it reminds me of those old school, metal, lunchboxes, and it came with three tubes of lip gloss! KarleyShay, is an all-american girl. She loves lip gloss, dolls, and anything with a gorgeous sparkle and/or shine.. As her father hands her the Dora package, I see the bra come out of the buggy! Now, I know why she got silent all of a sudden. I hadn't even noticed. Kinda reminded me of the time, when I bought her six ringpops at the grocery store and did not realize it 'till we got home. Which is a story for a different day. We rap up our time at the department store and proceed to the check out. I hand the lady our stuff and wait for Kars, to hand the lady hers. She won't give it up, she was afraid her Dora lip gloss would get taken away just like her bra did. Poor thing, huh? Finally, the cashier had it scanned. We paid our dues and was finally out the door. KarleyShay, was content. Not a single peep came from her. Life was good for those few, short minutes!

Our next stop, a recently opened shoe store. My best friend is getting married in less than two months and we have yet to pick out the bridesmaids/flower girl shoes. Upon getting out of the car, KarleyShay says sassy, "I'm taking my gloss and purse." Not wanting an argument, we agreed that she could. A very small, tin purse with a few tubes of lip gloss, No big deal, right?

As we are looking at the stilettos, KarleyShay, tries to sit on the bench and open her purse, well, attempts to anyways. She ends up falling off the side with one of her legs still on the bench, and hitting her head. She immediately yells, "hey! I'm okay! I'm okay!" I'm amazed the kid made it to her third birthday without suffering a brain damaging head injury. Cody, laughs. While, I of course, fall to my knees, kiss her boo boo (forehead) and help her up, she goes into a frenzy! All of her lip-gloss had fallen out! Luckily, we found them. That done it for me, enough with the shopping. I was ready to head to Wal-Mart, find something to cook for dinner, and go home! Oh joy, Wal-Mart.

We hadn't even gotten out of the parking lot and KarleyShay had started. She didn't want to put her flip flops on the right feet, hold Daddy's hand, or even walk. I told, Cody, that I needed my switch  out of the car, usually just saying the word 'switch', gets a reaction out of, KarleyShay, but when he told me that I had left it at home, it was fair ball to her.

First, we wanted to look at the Halloween costumes to try and change, Kars, mind about wanting to be Spiderman this year. Yeah, I know, what you are thinking, I had just previously stated that I wanted a quick trip in and out so we could head home. But  in all honesty, does any Wal-Mart trip end up like that? Yeah, I did not think so..

No, Halloween costumes were out yet, or I just couldn't find them one. i'm not really sure. But we had to pass the Barbie section. We happened to turn up the aisle to see if they carried Barbie Dream House, Malibu Edition, which they didn't. KarleyShay, spots a hair straightner, hair dryer, cell phone and something else in a package that was Princess. Of course, a tantrum starts to develop after we had said no. Let me throw something in real quick, I was just BRAGGING the other day how my three year old had never thrown a tantrum in the store. Well, that came back to hit me in the face. We immediately left the toy section, head towards the freezer aisle to get something quick and easy and head for the check-outs where my child start in on a chorus of, “I neeed candy?” She didn't even ask nicely. Not that she cared. But instead of, 'Can I have candy' it was 'I neeeed Candy'.. What evil minded person decided it would be a good idea to put a display of candy in the check-out lanes, right at a child’s eye level? Obviously someone who has never been shopping
with a toddler. More crying has developed at this point. She cries all the way out the store, thru the parking lot, getting buckled in her car seat, and alllll the way down the interstate. The crying finally stopped. I turned around to see if she had fallen asleep. No, somehow she had wiggled lose out of her buckles, and turned around to look out of the back windshield. I had to climb halfway through the back, turn her back around to find that she was eating chap stick, spank her legs and buckle her back up.

What has happened to my sweet, precious, daughter? When will these terrible three's go away?

We are finally home and all settled in. Kars', is in her room watching Max & Ruby, we are in the kitchen, I'm cooking while my love does the dishes. Need, I mention that I didn't even ask him to do them? Ahhh, he's amazing! Then he says, "What are we gonna do when we have another one? Are you ready for that?"

Huh?! Two, KarleyShay's? Surely having two babies would be easier, right? No, I didn't think so.
With days like this, I think this conversation could hold off for a few more months. But... then there are those other days, when you wake up and continue to thank God for giving you the biggest blessing that you have ever received, while getting smothered in the biggest kisses, and listening to her say, "Momma, I love you bestest!" So just maybe, we are ready and I just really need to add to our pep talk before shopping!


She picked me flowers out of the flower bed! :)

Wednesday, September 7, 2011

Paying for a Raisin'


People who's going to tell me that your toddler doesn't act out and/or responds favorably to discipline, then let me just go ahead at the outset and call you a liar. See, I have been intensely studying these wild animals (toddlers) for almost 4 years now, and I have come to the well-researched conclusion that they are uncontrollable acts of nature. As in, you'd be more likely to get a tornado to sit on your "Time Out Chair." I've read the books and watched the Supernannies. I've heard about "coming down to their level" to speak to them in a non-threatening manner and I've attempted to remain cool in the face of confrontation.. Yeah, it doesn't work for my household. Sadly, I have turned to the switch.  


Now I can already hear your harsh judgments seeping through your computer screen and spilling out into my cozy recliner... you're telling me that we have to remain in control, that we can't respond in anger, that by losing our composure they WIN! But sister, I've heard it all before, and I can assure you that you're wasting your time.  In a heartbeat she can morph from impossibly sweet and delicate nymph fairy into lunatic running screaming from the asylum, to the point where I'd swear she wasn't even my kid (or at least, I'd be actively wishing she wasn't my kid). And yet a few short moments (read: 15 interminable minutes) later, she is returned to us, confusedly shaking her head in disbelief as if she'd just been dropped back down to earth after an alien abduction. It's either her way or the highway. No questions asked. I have never heard a toddler sass and backtalk like her. I know they say that you pay for your raising, but KarleyShay is only THREE! Shouldn't I 'Pay for my raising' in her teenage years? Makes sense to me. Apparently it doesn't happen like that. 


Now, I can be a tad bit of a push over. The things she says sometimes just catches me off guard and well, I giggle. A lot. For example today, "KarleyShay, get your barbies out of the living room or I am going to put them all away for the rest of the day." KarleyShay, replies with "You can't put them up if I punch you in the eye ball".. What?! What did she just say to me? I am not kidding. I thought little boys were supposed to say things like that. I just cannot have my toddler being the boss. Every since i was a little girl, I couldn't wait to be the boss. Sadly, she will tell you who is in charge and well, she doesn't say 'Mommy'. And this is how the switch came into play.. 


During a visit with my in-laws today, I tell Cindy, (KarleyShay's Mima, who refuses to go by Grandma, because she says that she is just to hip and young), just how much of a wild banshee this pretty, little, redhead can be. Not like she hasn't noticed before. She basically told me that I had two alternatives, keep doing what I am doing or try her method. About that time, KarleyShay, starts rudely barking out orders. Cindy, takes, Kars, outside with her. I'm guessing they go out for a little chat. Considering, KarleyShay is the only grandchild, she is a little spoiled and her Papaw doesn't like for you to spank her in front of him. They come back  in with three switches. One for Mima and Pa's house, another for KarleyShay's baby dolls, and lastly one for our house. "What am I supposed to do with this?" I asked, Cindy. "Bust her little tail. If you don't she is going to get worse. You have to be in control." I was one who always said that I would never use a switch on my child, because well, it hurts to bad and could possibly leave stripes! Before we left tonight, she gave me precise directions on how to use it. She even made sure that when we were walking out the door that I had it in my hand. I didn't think I would get to use it tonight. I was thinking it would be more of use in the mornings. That's what I get for wishful thinking.  


The moment occurred. KarleyShay, had just finished her bowl of candy cereal (Lucky Charms) and it was time for a quick tea party with her favorite friends. She had placed one of her babies for a nap in our recliner, then went on about her party on the coffee table. KarleyShay's, great-grandmother came in, not knowing that baby Ariel, was napping.. Kars, took off full sprint almost knocking her completely out of our recliner. I tried to make, KarleyShay, apologize, I would have had better luck getting one from the dog. I went into the kitchen, grabbed my switch and threatened her. And what did she do? She laughed. I was appalled. I slightly bent over, got her legs, barely. And that was it. Mamaw, got her apology, even with a hug! Need I say that it absolutely broke my heart! I immediately texted, Cindy, and told her that maybe the switch just wasn't for me. She never texted me back, mainly because she was probably too busy laughing at me, but I like to think she just went to bed an hour early. Who knows what happened. After a non response, I turn to my blog. No better way to get this off my chest. But, I did come to realize, when my mother told me while growing up, that spanking me hurt her far worse than it did me. Well, I always thought she was crazy. Literally. But that's not the case. Spanking, KarleyShay




Does my new-found insight mean that I don't get mad, or have stopped yelling at her when her head starts doing 360 degree rotations? Of course not! As I explained, I'm no better at controlling myself in the heat of the moment than she is, and I'm done apologizing for it. So we both screech at each other with reckless abandon, momentarily surrendering to THE TANTRUM control of our dignity and our bodily functions, somehow instinctively knowing the backs of our (adrenaline-addled) minds that This, Too, Shall Pass.


*NOW* do I get my own TV series, ABC?


<3 

















Things that come out of my mouth..

Upon becoming a mom, one expects to say things like, "If I have to tell you one more time…" and
"Because I said so! That's why." But I’m willing to bet that no mom ever expected that she
would ever utter the phrase "It's pronounced orange, not orgy."

I keep a notebook full of things that I find my daughter saying.. Things that you just cannot make up.
After, a conversation with Cody, we got to thinking about all the randomness that we have had to say to her..
here are a few of our favorite and not so favorite things!  Enjoy! (Feel free to share your own) :)


This is the face I get daily!




MY FAVORITE, LICKING!
(When it comes to licking, parents expect to say  "Quick! Lick that ice cream cone before it drips everywhere." ) Not the following:

"Stop licking the windows!"
"Please stop licking my tattoo, it doesn't wipe off."
"Let's not kiss the garbage can, okay?"
''People don't lick themselves clean.''
''Just because Dora has an ice-cream cone on the TV does not mean that you can taste it."

RANDOM:
''I know it hurts, but I will not kiss your butt.''
''No, HE doesn't have a baby in his tummy..''
''You can't marry Daddy; I got him first.''
''Stop it! Your foot keeps lifting up my skirt.. It is not funny!''


FOOD:
''What if I spit in your drink?''
''Those aren't trees, they're broccoli.''
''Don't put the chips back in the bowl after you've licked them.''
''Take your hands out of your pants and eat."
"Get your feet out of the Jell-O!"
"Green beans do not make good pets."
"You have to use your spoon! You are not a Dog! I mean it, don't try to lick up your food!''
''No, i don't think a ketchup and peanut
butter sandwich sounds like a good idea.''
"Do NOT share your sucker with the dog."

HYGIENE:
''Your sleeve is not a tissue..''
''You shirt is not a napkin.''
''No arguing! You cannot run around butt naked!''
''It is not nice to pick other people's noses''
''You cannot wear your socks in the tub.''
"I told you before, I don’t like it when you put my deodorant on the dog."

And, of course:
I'll love you no matter what!!! 

Tuesday, September 6, 2011

Time for a blog..

The other day I had a friend ask me why I didn't start a blog just to record some of the things my three year old daughter, KarleyShay says and does. I thought about it for a minute. I simply replied that there just wasn't enough time. The more I thought about it, the more I realized just how great it would be to take 'Five Minutes For Mommy' out of my daily activities. Five minutes from work, cleaning, answering random questions, to watching nothing but 'Caillou' on TV. I could surely add in a few minutes. And so I did.. Here is an attempt at my very first blog entry.

The sun rises and falls with my daughter.. This is her very first year of ballet classes, which we are both extremely excited about! She of course, made an everlasting impression on the first day of class. During the last ten minutes of her class, the teacher lets all the parents come in and watch what they have learned. As the music begins, I notice, KarleyShay, with her hands behind her back, not really being able to tell exactly what she was doing. I decide not to worry about it, I thought it was just taking her some time to get use to everyone in the room. The music plays and all the sweet little girls are thoroughly enjoying it. Some more shy than others, but not KarleyShay. The hands that were behind her back, have now pulled down her shorts and turned around to show the parents just what a day in my life is like.. A naked rumpus. Yes! MY sweet little darling had mooned the entire room. I was speechless. Needless to say, everyone was laughing but me. I did not know wither to cry, or laugh. Then I realized before I did either of the two, I had to run over there and pull up her Dora panties and black, Soffe shorts to cover up her naked rump.  I'm sure I don't have to mention the fact that that was the last class she attended where she wasn't wearing her leotard and tights..



I'm new to this and really have no idea what I'm doing but I always seem to surprise myself with new things, well, besides cooking. I'm afraid I will never get the hang of that..


 

Here I posted a few pictures from her first two dance classes! :)




Her first day of dance class! Notice her hands slowing going towards her back!


Her new attire for dance class!